Information for Students under 18

Share

2019 RES LetterEng

I. Essential Information for Students Under 18

  1. Some students who join the University are under the age of 18. While these students will be treated equally with other students, they are invited to note the following matters.
    1. Parental responsibility - It should be noted that parental responsibility remains with the parents/ guardians, and that the University will not assume parental responsibility for students under 18. These students’ parents/ guardians should be aware of their responsibility under some circumstances. Additional parental consent may be required for some activities, e.g. activities conducted outside Hong Kong.
    2. Student development activities - Students under 18 can participate or engage (pursuant to a course requirement or otherwise) in academic, training, social and other activities (e.g. course trips, exchange programmes, evening gatherings and high-risk sports). Students are reminded that some of these activities may involve various kinds of risks and they should assess the potential risks before taking part in these activities.
    3. Compliance with regulations - In general, students should comply with the relevant University regulations and take full responsibility for all activities which they participate in relation to their academic studies and non-academic activities at the University, e.g. course selection, internship and participation in student activities.
    4. Student associations - Students may participate in student associations and their activities, if they wish. However, students who are under 18 should be aware of the personal liabilities of being office bearers of student associations, especially when engaging in contractual agreements with outside parties in the capacity of their positions in the student bodies, and the possible problems that may arise.
    5. Accommodation - Students under 18 may be offered on-campus accommodation through residing in hostels.
    6. Access to selected materials - Like other students, students under 18 have access to materials which are normally suitable for adults only. There will not be special restriction for access of students under 18 to materials in the libraries.
    7. Internship, placement and part-time work - Students under 18 who will participate in internship, placement or part-time work are reminded of the Students under 18 who will participate in internship, placement or part-time work are reminded of the1restrictions specified in the Employment of Young Person (Industry) Regulations on certain work settings and conditions.
    8. Emergency - Under specific circumstances or in case of emergency, students under 18 may need to receive psychological treatments, undergo medical operations, etc. If necessary, they may assist in police interrogation.
  2. Students are protected by the Personal Data (Privacy) Ordinance. Parents/guardians normally do not have the right to access students’ personal data. In general, the University corresponds directly with students, but not their parents/guardians. However, the University may sometimes need to contact parents/guardians of the students, e.g. in the event of an emergency. It is necessary for students under 18 to provide the University with the emergency contacts of their parents/ guardians and update such records as and when necessary. The students have already given consent for the University to contact their parents/ guardians in the registration procedures.
  3. If students under 18 feel that they may need additional support or would like to discuss with the University on any issues due to their personal circumstances, they are invited to contact the Office of Student Affairs, or their respective Colleges/Faculties.
  4. The parent/ guardian of a student who is still under the age of 18 as of the day of registration is asked to complete and sign a consent form to indicate his/ her acknowledgement of the information in this document and his/ her consent for the student to engage in relevant academic and student development activities.

 

II. Consent form

Please click the button below to download the consent form

Consent given by the parent/ guardian of a student who is under the age of 18

18歲以下學生須知

Share

2019 RES LetterEng

 

I. 未滿18歲學生須知

一、 大學對所有學生一視同仁,但尚未滿18歲的學生仍須注意下列事項:
  1. 家長責任 - 未滿18歲學生的父母/監護人需要履行家長責任,大學不會代理;這些學生的父母/監護人應明白及注意他們在何種情況下應負的責任。某些活動可能需要額外徵求家長同意,例如在香港以外地方所舉行的活動。
  2. 學生發展活動 - 根據課程要求或其他需要,未滿18歲的學生可以參與學術、培訓、社交及其他活動(如:課程考察、交換計畫、晚間聚會及高風險體育運動)。 學生須注意這些活動可能涉及不同類型的風險,而在參與前應對潛在風險作出評估。
  3. 大學規則 - 學生須遵守大學制定的規則,並為他們在大學參與的所有學術及非學術活動,包括選課、實習及學生發展活動等負上全部責任。
  4. 學生社團 - 學生可根據個人意願參與學生社團及其籌辦的活動。但未滿18歲的學生須注意作為學生社團幹事所需承擔的責任及可能引致的問題,尤其當他們以社團幹事身分與校外團體簽訂合作協定。
  5. 住宿 - 未滿18歲的學生也可入住由大學管理的校園宿舍。
  6. 指定資料存取 - 未滿18歲的學生與其他學生一樣,可以接觸一般只適合成年人的資料,他們在獲取圖書館的資料時並沒受特別限制。
  7. 實習及兼職工作 - 未滿18歲的學生如參與實習或兼職工作,必須瞭解《雇用青年(工業)規例》中對工作環境及條件所作的限制。
  8. 緊急情況 - 在特別或緊急情況下,未滿18歲的學生可能需要接受心理治療及醫療手術等。如有需要,他們亦可能被警方邀請協助調查。
二、 學生受《個人資料(私隱)條例》保障,其父母/監護人一般無權獲取他們的個人資料。大學通常會直接與學生聯繫,而不是他們的父母/監護人;不過,大學在某些時候可能要聯絡學生的父母/監護人,例如緊急情況。因此,未滿18歲的學生必須向大學提供其父母/監護人之緊急聯絡資料及在有需要時更新。大學在這些學生註冊時已取得他們的同意,可與他們的父母/監護人聯繫。
三、 未滿18歲的學生如需額外支援,或希望就其個人情況或任何事情與大學討論,可以聯絡學生事務處或他們所屬的書院/學院。
四、 截至註冊當天仍未滿18歲的學生,其父母/監護人須填寫並簽署同意書,以確認已閱讀及理解本檔的內容,並同意學生可以參與有關學術及學生發展的活動。

 

II. 同意書

請按以下按鈕下載同意書

未滿18歲學生之父母/監護人同意書