I·CARE Programme

Share

I·CARE Programme Logo

Launched in 2011, the I‧CARE Programme has been committed to offering informal whole-person education to students based on the I·CARE Framework.  In line with its motto “Aspiration through Reflection; Renewal through Civility”, the I·CARE Programme aims to inspire students to actively partake in social and civic services.  It also facilitates the release of students’ holistic competencies so that they will become able to enhance the wellness of people in the local, regional and global communities.  The I·CARE Programme is now administered by the I·CARE Centre for Whole-person Development.  This Centre also collaborates with other University units to motivate all-round development of students.

Activities under the I‧CARE Programme are mainly carried out through the following six areas:

1.   University Lectures on Civility

 ULC Yunus  ULC LUNG Yingtai

This Programme is consisted of seminars and cultural activities that explore the relationship between men and society/ nature.  Scholars, artists and celebrities from around the world share their unique humanistic points of view with students and catalyse them to reflect on the meaning of life.  Speakers of this Programme include, inter alia, Muhammad Yunus (Nobel Peace Prize Laureate), Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche (master of Buddhist meditation), and Lung Ying-tai (renowned writer).

2.   Social Service Projects Scheme

 Social Service Project Scheme  Service project 1

The University encourages students to engage in social and civic services in Hong Kong, the Mainland, and overseas countries.  While funding has been set aside for students to design, initiate and implement sustainable development projects in local and impoverished areas to enhance people’s well-being, they will also be trained (through the “Proposal Writing Workshop” and “Sharing Session on Learning Outcome”, etc.), coached and monitored under the Scheme.

3.   Local Poverty Alleviation Initiative

 Elderly University Dayheight=  Cultural Tour

This Programme aims at addressing the underlying causes of poverty as well as building an enabling environment for poverty alleviation in Hong Kong.  Through engaging in community services like staging the “Social Service Day - Let Elderly/ Youth to be a University Student”, “Hong Kong Cultural Tours Project” and “Fitness x Mentorship” Scheme, students gain first-hand experience about societal issues and build up resolve to moderate poverty. 

4.   Community Research Scheme

 Community Research Scheme Press Conference  Community Research Scheme

The Scheme allows students from different disciplines to work together on rigorous studies of various public issues under the guidance of professional tutors.  Students collect and analyse data, carry out research and present findings that become blueprints for community and social reforms.  Topics of research include, inter alia, “Homeless and Mental Wellbeing” and “Elderly-friendly Housing”.

5.   Social Enterprise Startup Scheme

CUSE Fund Award Ceremony  Social Enterprise Startup Scheme

The Scheme not only funds students (and also young alumni) to transform their creative business ideas into meaningful startup, but most importantly offers mentorship to them by the experts in real business sector.  With financial support of the Scheme, participants validate, establish or scale up their social enterprises.

6.   NGO Internship Programme

 NGO  NGO 1

Working for a non-governmental organisation (NGO) provides students with the opportunity to put theories into practice, support others in need, and create positive changes in communities.  The placements in Hong Kong, the Mainland and Taiwan are expected to take students’ dedication and strengths to new heights.

 

I‧CARE Centre for Whole-person Development

phone black 01 3943 8621
contact web black 01 http://www.cuhk.edu.hk/icare

博群計劃

Share

I·CARE Programme Logo

博群計劃於2011年成立,建基於I·CARE發展模式,爲學生提供非形式全人教育。博群計劃以「博思明志,群育新民」為規訓,旨在鼓勵學生積極參與社會及公民服務,並促使他們發揮所長,以滿足本港、地區,以至全球的社會需要。博群計劃現由博群全人發展中心統籌,該中心同時與大學各部門合作,推動學生的全人發展。

博群計劃的活動主要為下列六個範疇所涵蓋:

1.   博群大講堂

ULC Yunus  ULC LUNG Yingtai

此項目包含多類講座、論壇及文藝活動,邀請各地知名學者、藝術家和不同界別的卓越人士,分享其對社會、人文價值等方面的看法,與學生切磋思想、砥礪人生。此項目的講者包括諾貝爾和平獎得主穆罕默德·尤努斯、禪修大師詠給·明就仁波切及著名作家龍應台等。

2.   社會服務計劃

 Social Service Project Scheme  Service project 1

大學鼓勵同學積極參與在香港、內地及海外的可持續社會服務項目,以協助有需要的人士改善生活。此計劃除作出撥款資助外,亦為同學提供培訓(如「撰寫計劃書工作坊」及「學習成果分享會」),以及協助他們構思和落實服務內容。

3.   本地扶貧項目

 Elderly University Dayheight=  Cultural Tour

學生透過參與此項目的各種活動(例如籌辦「社會服務日――讓長者/青年當一天大學生」、「文化導賞計劃」、「健體x友伴」計劃),探討本港貧窮成因及改善社會環境,以舒緩貧窮狀況。學生更可從服務中體會弱勢社群的感受及處境,從而反思大學生在社會議題中的公民角色及社會責任,培養持續服務社區的決心。

4.   社區研究計劃

 Community Research Scheme Press Conference  Community Research Scheme

此計劃讓不同學科的學生以團隊合作形式,在專責導師帶領下,深入社區研究各項公共議題。學生會進行資料搜集、撰寫及分析研究報告,並就有關議題提出建議及解決方案,為社會制訂改革藍圖。此計劃的研究課題包括「無家者精神健康」及「長者友善房屋」等。

5.   社會企業起動計劃

 CUSE Fund Award Ceremony  Social Enterprise Startup Scheme

在此計劃下,同學(以及年輕校友)可從具有豐富經驗的導師身上獲得創業錦囊及商界網絡,繼而把具創意的業務意念轉化成富意義的起動項目。透過此計劃所提供的資金,參加者可望試行、成立,甚至擴大其社會企業。

6.   非牟利團體實習計劃

 NGO  NGO 1

同學在香港、內地及台灣的非牟利團體實習,不僅可把公民社會理念融入工作,更能服務社群及為世界帶來正面改變。

 

博群全人發展中心

phone black 01 3943 8621
contact web black 01 http://www.cuhk.edu.hk/icare