Copyright and Academic Honesty

Share

Copyright

The law protects creators for their original works such as books, newspapers, computer programmes, photographs, films, sound recordings and broadcasts. The creators hold the exclusive right to use or authorize others to use their work – including its reproduction, public performance and broadcasting. The Copyright Ordinance provides certain limited exemptions to copyright for learning. “Fair dealing” of a work for research or private study, criticism, review, news reporting, or for giving or receiving instruction in a specified course of study provided by an educational establishment is permitted.

Infringement of copyright is a serious offence and may lead to civil remedies or even criminal sanctions. Copyright infringement by CUHK members, such as excessive downloading of electronic content, violates local laws and University licence agreements and will subject the user to University disciplinary action.

For additional information, please visit the University’s website at http://www.cuhk.edu.hk/policy/copyright

 

Honesty in Academic Work

As one of the primary aims of university education is to develop the ability to think independently, students must never pass off the work or ideas of others as their own. Plagiarism is as serious an offence as cheating in examinations; both are punishable under University regulations.

Plagiarism

Plagiarism is an attempt to pass off the work of others (in particular the writing of others), including online resources, as one’s own.

The most obvious and blatant type of plagiarism is copying whole articles, sections, paragraphs or whole sentences from other publications without acknowledgement. However, even the use of a few words or paraphrasing (without actually copying any words at all) may constitute plagiarism if the source is not acknowledged. Students sometimes unintentionally plagiarize because they are not aware of the very stringent rules that apply. If material is taken from a source, there should be proper quotes and acknowledgements. Students should read the detailed guidelines and examples for the acknowledgement of sources in the University’s website at http://www.cuhk.edu.hk/policy/academichonesty, in particular, the Section on “Electronic submission of assignments” via VeriGuide.

Disciplinary Action

All cases of plagiarism or cheating in examinations will be handled by the disciplinary committees concerned, the Graduate School Disciplinary Committee or, where appropriate, the Senate Committee on Student Discipline for possible disciplinary actions in accordance with the following Regulation:

  • 19.1 – 19.3 of General Regulations Governing Full-time Undergraduate Studies;
  • 17.1 – 17.3 of General Regulations Governing Part-time Undergraduate Studies;
  • 16.1 – 16.4 of General Regulations Governing Postgraduate Studies;
  • 12.1 – 12.3 of Regulations Governing Associate Students.

For a first offence, the penalty will be a minimum of one demerit and a mark of zero for that component of the course; for a second or further offence, a minimum penalty of two demerits and a mark of zero for that component of the course will be given. The maximum penalty in serious cases could be termination of studies.

版權與學術著作誠信

Share

版權

法律保護創作者的原創作品如書籍、報章、電腦程式、照片、電影、錄音記 錄及廣播等。創作者擁有使用或授權他人使用其作品的獨有權利-包括複製、公開表演及廣播該作品。版權條例給予研習用途有限度的版權豁免,法例容許為研究或私人研習、批評、評論、新聞報道、或由教育機構提供的指明課程中為教學或接受教學而「公平處理」某一作品。

侵犯版權屬嚴重罪行,可能招致民事責任甚或刑事制裁。同學若侵犯版權,例如過量地下載電子內容,就是違反本地法律及大學的特許協議,該使用者將受大學紀律處分。

如需進一步資料,請按以下按鈕前往大學版權與知識產權頁面:
http://www.cuhk.edu.hk/policy/copyright

 

學術著作誠信

大學教育基本目的之一是培養獨立思考能力,所以學生絕對不應抄襲他人之著作或論點,作為自己之論著。任何形式之抄襲,與在考試時作弊同樣嚴重,須依大學學則加以處分。

抄襲

抄襲是意圖抄襲他人之著作(特別是他人的著述),亦包括網上資料,作為自己之論著。

最明顯及公然的抄襲是將出版物的整篇文章、整節、整段或整句句子抄錄而不加註明。但即使只抄錄數字或意譯(沒有實際抄錄任何文字)而未註明資料來源,亦可構成抄襲。有時學生並非蓄意抄襲,只因他們沒有留意有關的嚴謹規則。若資料是有出處的,便必須加上適當的引號及註明。學生須按以下按鈕前往大學學術著作誠信頁面:
http://www.cuhk.edu.hk/policy/academichonesty
請熟讀以上指引,特別是以「維誠系統提交作業」的章節,以得悉在註明 資料來源方面的詳細指引及例子,及大學對學生提交作業的要求。

紀律處分

所有抄襲或考試作弊的個案都會由有關紀律委員會、研究院紀律委員會或教務會學生紀律委員會,按下列學則作可能的紀律處分:

  • 全日制本科生總學則第 19.1 至 19.3 條;
  • 兼讀制本科生總學則第 17.1 至 17.3 條;
  • 研究生總學則第 16.1 至 16.4 條;
  • 特別生學則第 12.1 至 12.3 條。
    如屬初犯,最低處分是記過一次及該科目的有關部份得零分;如屬第二次或再犯,則記過兩次及該科目的有關部份得零分。如個案性質嚴重,最高處分為開除學籍。